Skip to content
Northumberland Counts — Northumberland, in numbers.Local help →

Northumberland, in numbers

People and living standards

Northumberland council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Northumberland council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 305,521 in 1991 to 333,975 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Northumberland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 305,804 people in 1996; 333,975 people in 2025. 9.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Northumberland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991305,521
1992306,086
1993306,129
1994306,545
1995305,931
1996305,804
1997306,756
1998307,241
1999307,490
2000307,348
2001307,363
2002308,499
2003309,448
2004310,140
2005310,752
2006311,375
2007312,960
2008314,057
2009314,489
2010315,463
2011316,278
2012315,924
2013315,013
2014315,274
2015314,188
2016314,327
2017315,663
2018316,153
2019318,027
2020318,490
2021321,532
2022324,293
2023327,366
2024330,615
2025333,975
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Northumberland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 59,910 people in 1996; 51,527 people in 2025. 14% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Northumberland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199160,967
199261,056
199361,139
199461,196
199560,558
199659,910
199759,484
199858,920
199958,815
200058,549
200157,796
200257,323
200356,876
200456,496
200556,020
200655,606
200755,068
200854,568
200954,075
201053,839
201153,702
201253,422
201352,845
201452,471
201551,936
201651,765
201751,921
201851,950
201951,954
202051,523
202151,671
202251,743
202351,946
202451,784
202551,527
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Northumberland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 193,712 people in 1996; 191,538 people in 2025. 1.1% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Northumberland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991193,103
1992193,314
1993193,278
1994193,531
1995193,398
1996193,712
1997194,931
1998195,838
1999195,626
2000195,318
2001195,400
2002196,157
2003196,883
2004197,365
2005197,806
2006198,386
2007199,665
2008200,106
2009199,659
2010199,242
2011198,703
2012195,857
2013193,322
2014191,885
2015189,923
2016188,652
2017188,116
2018187,254
2019187,062
2020186,609
2021187,580
2022188,267
2023189,170
2024190,363
2025191,538
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Northumberland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 52,182 people in 1996; 90,910 people in 2025. 74.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Northumberland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199151,451
199251,716
199351,712
199451,818
199551,975
199652,182
199752,341
199852,483
199953,049
200053,481
200154,167
200255,019
200355,689
200456,279
200556,926
200657,383
200758,227
200859,383
200960,755
201062,382
201163,873
201266,645
201368,846
201470,918
201572,329
201673,910
201775,626
201876,949
201979,011
202080,358
202182,281
202284,283
202386,250
202488,468
202590,910
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 320,566 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Northumberland · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,3741.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5980.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,5570.8%
White313,02797.6%
Other ethnic group1,0100.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 316,028 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Northumberland · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White311,06698.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,6920.5%
Asian/Asian British2,6580.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3380.1%
Other ethnic group2740.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 307,190 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Northumberland · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White304,22199%
Mixed8710.3%
Asian/Asian British1,2200.4%
Black/Black British2040.1%
Chinese/Other6740.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 6.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Northumberland council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,074 per person in 1997; £24,195 per person in 2024. 140.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Northumberland council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,074
199810,171
199910,706
200011,286
200111,763
200212,017
200312,438
200412,941
200513,217
200613,988
200714,278
200815,140
200916,064
201016,036
201116,054
201216,610
201317,167
201417,553
201518,227
201618,552
201718,863
201819,273
201919,872
202019,940
202120,473
202221,150
202322,829
202424,195
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Northumberland council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -5.1% in 1997; -6.8% in 2024. 1.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Northumberland council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-5.1
1998-6.1
1999-5.4
2000-5.2
2001-4.9
2002-5
2003-4.6
2004-4.6
2005-6
2006-4.5
2007-7
2008-3.9
20090.3
2010-0.7
2011-1.5
2012-1.7
2013-2
2014-2.9
2015-4.2
2016-3.7
2017-4.3
2018-5.6
2019-5.7
2020-5
2021-6.3
2022-7.9
2023-6.6
2024-6.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

52.4%

21 March 2021 · Northumberland council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.5%

21 March 2021 · Northumberland council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.9%

21 March 2021 · Northumberland council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.2%

21 March 2021 · Northumberland council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£213,000

July 2026 · Northumberland council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£695

August 2026 · Northumberland council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.